The Governing Body has overall responsibility of ensuring the college performs in accordance with its contract, which is held by the Local Authority, Southend Borough Council, as outlined in the Scheme of Delegation including Instrument of Government and Articles of Association. The Scheme of Delegation can be reviewed via the link at the bottom of the page.

Bound by the Association of Colleges’ Good Governance Guide and the Department for Education’s Governance Handbook, the Governing Body is responsible for scrutinising strategic planning, performance and outcomes and the financial probity and viability of the college.  Governors are recruited on a robust skills basis to ensure they have the appropriate range of skills to fulfil their strategic functions allowing them to hold the Principal and senior leaders of the College to account.

The Governing Body consists of the following members: 

  • Tony Ashley, Co-opted governor, Vice Chair
  • John Duprey, Co-opted governor, Chair
  • Cllr Anne Jones, Local Authority
  • Ros Parker, Principal
  • Damon Starky, Co-opted
  • Natalie Solomons, Co-opted
  • Simon Tutton, Co-opted
  • Jane Vernon Smith, Co-opted
  • Laurain Zialor, Staff governor

The Full Governing Body meeting dates for 2019-20 are:

  • Wednesday 2 October 2019
  • Tuesday 12 November 2019
  • Tuesday 10 December 2019
  • Wednesday 22 January 2020
  • Wednesday 26 February 2020
  • Wednesday 25 March 2020
  • Tuesday 14 April 2020
  • Tuesday 21 April 2020
  • Wednesday 20 May 2020
  • Wednesday 17 June 2020
  • Wednesday 15 July 2020

The Governor’s register of business interests or their meeting attendance record can be obtained by emailing the clerk to the Governing Body: emmaharding@southend-adult.ac.uk.

Minutes from Governing Body meetings are available on request by contacting the clerk.

If you wish to contact the Chair of Governors, or any of your governors please email the Clerk to the Governing Body: emmaharding@southend-adult.ac.uk or write to them at: Southend Adult Community College, Ambleside Drive, Southend-on-Sea, Essex, SS1 2UP.

SACC Scheme of Delegation